top of page

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

Updated: Sep 27, 2018


This simple sauce is one of my favorite ways to take a meat from basic to gourmet!

It maintains the great taste of Gorgonzola cheese but with a subtle flavor in a thick, creamy sauce. Use it to quickly dress up steak, chicken, or fish.






 

Ingredients

- 1 cup heavy whipping cream

- 1 ounce of crumbled Gorgonzola cheese

- 1 tablespoon of shredded Parmesan cheese

- Salt

Instructions

- Bring the cream to a boil in a saucepan.

- With the pan uncovered, continue to boil the cream until it becomes thicker, about 10 minutes. A larger recipe may require more time. It should reduce to about 1.5 times it's original volume. Stir regularly so it doesn't cook to the pan or form a skin.

- Remove from the heat and add the Gorgonzola, Parmesan, and salt to taste. Stir until the cheese has melted into the sauce.

 

While some might consider carnivore a very limited diet, the variety of cheeses available to us give us loads of options for delicious, different meals!


As I explain in my About this blog and Why carnivore pages, some on a carnivore diet thrive and enjoy eating without any dairy products, but for those who can tolerate them like myself, I think they're great animal-based products. I don't use dairy products as a main course for any of my carnivore meals, but I use them as flavorings and additions to meat.


One of my favorite specialty cheeses is Gorgonzola. This is a type of blue cheese that naturally has a very strong, but nice flavor. Other types of Gorgonzola and blue cheese sauces can maintain this very strong flavor, this more subtle sauce makes it a versatile addition to almost any meat.


This recipe includes no spices and doesn't need them, but if you use pepper or garlic they would go well in this sauce.


I recommend trying this on steak, chicken, or fish, but I can't think of a carnivore main course it couldn't go well on. I had to stop myself from eating all of the batch I made off of a spoon! Instead, I used it to dress up a pan-seared swordfish steak.


Enjoy!

bottom of page