top of page

Gravy

I experimented for a while before finding a way to make perfect carnivore gravy with no high-carb, plant-based thickeners. It's thick, creamy, easy to make, and in my opinion, better than traditional gravy!


 

Instructions

- Save the drippings from a roasted, whole chicken or turkey.

- Combine equal amounts of the drippings and cream in a small pan and bring to simmer over medium-high heat.

- Reduce the heat to medium-low, and without a lid, let the combination cook for about ten minutes, until the liquid is reduced by about half, whisking occasionally.

- Salt and, if you choose, pepper to taste.

 

Drippings left over from my roast turkey back

For a simple, go-to method for roasting chicken or turkey, see my recipe here!


Making gravy with the drippings is not only a great way to avoid waste, but eating with your chicken or turkey is a great way to add fat back to these naturally lower-fat meats.


Some gravies are made with broth rather than drippings, but I highly recommend not trying this. Broth is quite different and lower fat than the drippings from a real roast bird and in my opinion, does not turn out good.


I found that using this amount of cream was necessary so that the liquid could reduce enough to be thick and creamy. The drippings are almost entirely fat and therefore won't produce steam when cooking and reduce.



bottom of page