top of page

Queso

Updated: Jan 5, 2019

When I was keto I used to like making low-carb queso as a treat for myself. Since I'd given up corn chips I instead ate my queso on carrot sticks. When I transitioned to the carnivore way of eating, I became probably the only person to ever stop eating queso because I was avoiding carrots.


It only took one night of craving queso again to realize that carnivore actually offers some far better options for what to put queso on than carrots! Use as a dip for unflavored pork rinds or spread on steak or chicken.

Another reason this recipe took me so long to make on carnivore is because at one point I tried nachos made with shredded cheese baked onto pork rinds, but the cheese made the pork rinds soggy very quickly and turned me off from pork rind altogether for a while. I found that this recipe is a great alternative because dipping the pork rinds in the cheese means they will still be crunchy when you eat them!

 

Ingredients

- 4 ounces uncooked ground chorizo or ground beef (optional)

- 2 ounces of cream cheese

- 4 ounces of cheese, I recommend a mix of cheddar and jack

- 1 tablespoon cream


Instructions

- In a small pot, cook your chorizo or ground beef over medium heat.

- Right as it's finished cooking, add the cream cheese. Cook until it has melted some and then add the cheese and cream.

- Stir until everything is mixed and melted.

 

Most queso recipes use flour to keep the cheese thick enough while still liquid. I have made queso before with reduced cream for thickness, but this recipe gets hard very quickly as it cools. The cream cheese in this recipe keeps the queso thick without becoming solid quickly once removed from heat.


If your queso is too thick once everything is melted mix in some more cream. You may need to re-heat it some as it cools to keep it from becoming too hard.


I love adding beef chorizo which I buy ground from Sprout's Market to this recipe. If you are avoiding spices, simply using ground beef is a great alternative.


I recommend using a combination of jack and cheddar cheese for this recipe, but either one alone will still make a very traditional queso, and you can experiment with other cheeses for some more creative recipes! Think of all the cheeses that are used to make fondue recipes.


Queso can be tricky to re-heat. What I've found works is to take it out of the fridge and start heating on medium low heat. Oil from the cheese will start to separate. Continue to heat until all of the queso is warm and soft, then pour out the excess cheese oil. This is almost impossible to mix back in. Then add cream and stir over the heat until the queso is warmed and the desired consistency.

bottom of page